ka_on_rivercafe

Bye Bye Tenerife

Our personal maiden voyage

We have been on Tenerife for almost 3 months now. We have waited two months for the Rivercafe and the last 3 weeks we have made it ready to sail and our new home. After this weekend we will leave Tenerife. For Ka and me the 55 nm to Las Palmas de Gran Canaria will be something like our maiden voyage, even though our vessel has already almost 6.000 nm under her hull and will surely see it differently.

The waiting has already taken its toll on us, but we still had a great time and were lucky enough to live in the luxurious home of our friends Ruth and Gibbes. Of course, we have seen a lot of the island. From the warm, always sunny south – the major place for tourists. From the villages in the southwest, often in or above the clouds. And of course there is the “Teide”, Spain’s highest mountain. The drive through the lava landscape of the nature reserve alone is spectacular and worth the one hour journey. The green north-west is worth seeing and of course the often cloudy north-northeast, with the nice capital Santa Cruz. The marina in Santa Cruz is located 3 minutes walk from the city center and offers a lot of shops, nice bars and delicious restaurants. A good place for yachties.

We went swimming and diving – and every day in shorts. Plus the nice canary people and they can cook! Does not sound like a bad time at all.

With our plans to visit some other islands we were too optimistic. We won’t have time to sail more islands. We were looking forward to see La Gomera and La Palma again, but that’s the sailing life. Always a change in plans.

Work done

Since today the Prio 1 works on board are done and in the feeling that the Rivercafe is now sailing reliably, we can now sleep in the morning. On this cat it sleeps very well. Now we can also report a little bit about our experiences with the quality of our Leopard Cat. Pleasing: our list of defects was by far much shorter than on our last Hanse 505, even though the Leopard is much more complex and equipped with more technology. The finishing quality is very good, nothing creaks or rattles. The systems run stable and the power supply is better than expected.

Leopard has forgotten a few things, apparently a few mechanics wanted to go home early on Fridays. Wrong wiring for Watermaker and AC, missing locks and lights, something like that. Actually we only had one serious issue and that was the winches. They were not sufficiently laminated in and were moving, snapping back. Pretty dangerous.

The complaint and warrenty handling with Leopard was a bit tough in the beginning, but after it had settled in, uncomplicated. We gave all jobs to craftsmen in Santa Cruz and the guys did a great job. So everything looks good at the moment. Especially considering that our cat has already been halfway around the world and across the South Atlantic. Our delivery crew was full of praise for the sailing characteristics. The fact that the fabulous captain Gary did the handover in Cape Town and a lot of work here as well, probably makes the whole procedure not really representative.

k_and-h
relaxing on Rivercafe
holger off
Pause im Trampolin

Next

So now we are finally moving on. From next week we will be in Gran Canaria, the third largest Canary Island, but with the largest city, Las Palmas. There the few remaining ships of the ARC+ and ARC slowly gather. For us it will be nice to see a little bit of the island, especially since there are not many tourists there.

Ka wants to fly from there to Germany for the birthday of our super sweet granddaughter Hannah, who will be 5 years old and can’t decide between her admirers. What a cutie she is. We are curious if C19 and the German Minister of Health will allow this.

On our 8-9 hours trip new friends will accompany us. Helena from South Africa and Robert from Australia wanted to sail to Gran Canaria with their ship last week and had to turn back after 6 nm with mast breakage. It was a sad sight when the Spanish Coastal Rescue towed the two back into port. Now the two of them are finally coming over, even if the new mast still needs a few weeks / Holger Binz

 

7 thoughts

  • Thanks for the update, so glad that you really got your boat. I don’t think I would ever buy a new Leopard, I know 4 owners and they all including your self have had nothing but trouble, and not small things. Their Quality Control seems to be non existence.
    Happy sailing…
    Gary

    • Hi Gary, thanks for your feedback. But I wouldn’t say that we have nothing but trouble. It’s nothing compared to Hanse. But quality control definitely requires improvement.
      Take care

  • So happy to see you two on board at least and full of smiles (which must have started as frowns during the defect checking list!). Wonderful that your own voyage on Rivercafe has finally begun. I hope that you cracked a bottle of Crémant over one of the bows to officially christen her!! May all your voyages from now on be of the “Bon” type! lots of love from us xx

  • na alleine das Lesen eures Berichtes macht Freude und schürt den Wunsch auch gleich hinter her zu wollen. Das warten hat sich also offenbar mehr als gelohnt und nun darf der Wunsch — immer eine Handbreit Wasser unter den Kielen — ja ausgesprochen werden. Auf das Eure Pläne immer umgesetzt werden und das bitte mit möglichst wenig Hindernissen.
    Wir wünschen Euch Glück und den richtigen Wind
    Jürgen und Angelika – Teneriffa

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

ka_on_rivercafe

Bye bye Teneriffa

Unsere persönliche Jungfernfahrt

Seit fast 3 Monaten sind wir jetzt auf Tenerife. Zwei Monate haben wir auf die Rivercafe gewartet und die letzten 3 Wochen haben wir sie segelfertig und zu unserem neuen Zuhause gemacht. Nach diesem Wochenende werden wir Tenerife verlassen. Für Ka und mich werden die 55 nm bis nach Las Palmas de Gran Canaria sowas wie unsere Jungfernfahrt, auch wenn unser Mädel schon fast 6.000 nm unter dem Rumpf hat und das sicher anders sieht.

Das Warten hat schon an uns gezehrt, aber wir hatten dennoch eine schöne Zeit und das Glück, das luxuriöse Domizil unserer Freunde Ruth und Gibbes bewohnen zu können. Klaro, von der Insel haben wir viel gesehen. Vom warmen, immer sonnigen Süden – wo auch üblicherweise die meisten Touristen abgelagert werden. Von den Dörfern im Südwesten, die oft in oder über den Wolken liegen. Da ist natürlich auch noch der Teide, Spaniens höchster Berg. Allein die Fahrt durch die Lavalandschaft des Naturschutzgebiets ist spektakulär. Der grüne Nordwesten lohnt sich zu sehen und natürlich auch der oft bewölkte Nord-Nordosten, mit der netten Hauptstadt Santa Cruz. Die Marina in Santa Cruz liegt 3 Gehminuten zur Stadt und die bietet reichlich Geschäfte, nette Bars und köstliche Restos. Ein guter Ort für Segler.

Wir waren schwimmen und tauchen – und jeden Tag in Shorts. Dazu noch die netten Kanaries und die können kochen!!! Klingt doch nicht nach einer schlechten Zeit.

Mit unseren Planungen ein paar andere Inseln zu besuchen, waren wir zu optimistisch. Wir werden keine Zeit mehr haben, noch viel abzusegeln. Wir haben uns gefreut La Gomera und La Palma wieder zu sehen, aber so ist das Seglerleben.

Arbeiten erledigt

Seit heute sind die Prio 1 Arbeiten an Bord erledigt und in dem Gefühl das die Rivercafe jetzt zuverlässig segelt, können wir jetzt morgens wieder ausschlafen. Auf diesem Schiff schläft es sich ausgezeichnet. Jetzt können wir auch ein bisschen über unsere Erfahrungen mit der Qualität unseres Leopard Cats berichten. Erfreulich: unsere Mängelliste war deutlich kürzer, als bei unserer letzten Hanse 505, obwohl die Leopard wesentlich komplexer und mit mehr Technik ausgestattet ist. Die Ausbauqualität ist sehr gut, nichts knarrt oder klappert. Die Systeme laufen stabil und die Energieversorgung ist besser als erwartet.

Leopard hat ein paar Dinge vergessen, offenbar wollten ein paar Monteure Freitags früh nach Hause. Falsche Verkabelungen für Watermaker und AC, fehlende Schlösser und Lichter, sowas in der Art. Eigentlich hatten wir nur einen richtigen Bock und das waren die Winschen. Die waren nicht ausreichend einlaminiert und hatten Spiel. Ziemlich gefährlich.

Das Reklamations-Handling mit Leopard lief anfangs ein bisschen zäh, aber nachdem es sich eingespielt hatte, unkompliziert. Wir haben alle Jobs an Handwerker in Santa Cruz vergeben und die Jungs haben ihre Sache prima gemacht. Sieht also im Moment alles gut aus. Vor allem wenn man bedenkt, das unser Mädel schon einmal um die halbe Welt und durch den Südatlantik ist. Unsere delivery crew war voll des Lobes über die Segeleigenschaften. Das Gary unsere Abnahme in Cape Town gemacht hat und auch hier Leopard viel Arbeit abgenommen hat, macht die ganze Prozedur vermutlich nicht wirklich repräsentativ.

holger off
Pause im Trampolin
k_and-h
relaxing on Rivercafe

Next

Nun geht’s also endlich weiter. Ab nächster Woche sind wir in Gran Canaria, der drittgrößten Kanarischen Insel, aber mit der größten Stadt, Las Palmas. Dort versammeln sich langsam die wenigen verbliebenen Schiffe der ARC+ und ARC. Wird für uns sicher auch ganz nett ein bisschen was von der Insel zu sehen, vor allem da dort auch gerade sehr wenig Touristen sind.

Ka will von dort unbedingt noch kurz nach Deutschland zum Geburtstag unserer supersüssen Enkelin Hannah fliegen, die stolze 5 Jahre alt wird – und sich gerade nicht zwischen ihren Verehrern entscheiden kann. Wir sind gespannt, ob C19 und der deutsche Gesundheitsminister das zulassen.

Auf unserem 8-9 Stunden Trip werden uns neue Freunde begleiten. Helena aus Südafrika und Robert aus Australien wollten mit ihrem Schiff letzte Woche nach Gran Canaria segeln und mussten nach 6 nm mit Mastbruch umkehren. Ein trauriger Anblick, als die Spanische Küstenrettung die beiden in den Hafen zurück schleppte. Nun kommen die beiden doch noch rüber, auch wenn der neue Mast noch ein paar Wochen braucht. / Holger Binz

7 Kommentare zu „Bye bye Teneriffa“

  1. Thanks for the update, so glad that you really got your boat. I don’t think I would ever buy a new Leopard, I know 4 owners and they all including your self have had nothing but trouble, and not small things. Their Quality Control seems to be non existence.
    Happy sailing…
    Gary

    1. Hi Gary, thanks for your feedback. But I wouldn’t say that we have nothing but trouble. It’s nothing compared to Hanse. But quality control definitely requires improvement.
      Take care

  2. So happy to see you two on board at least and full of smiles (which must have started as frowns during the defect checking list!). Wonderful that your own voyage on Rivercafe has finally begun. I hope that you cracked a bottle of Crémant over one of the bows to officially christen her!! May all your voyages from now on be of the “Bon” type! lots of love from us xx

  3. na alleine das Lesen eures Berichtes macht Freude und schürt den Wunsch auch gleich hinter her zu wollen. Das warten hat sich also offenbar mehr als gelohnt und nun darf der Wunsch — immer eine Handbreit Wasser unter den Kielen — ja ausgesprochen werden. Auf das Eure Pläne immer umgesetzt werden und das bitte mit möglichst wenig Hindernissen.
    Wir wünschen Euch Glück und den richtigen Wind
    Jürgen und Angelika – Teneriffa

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree.Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen