karin-binz-yacht-branding

My yacht branding

What are you doing while you at at sea?

…I have been asked not for the first time. What do you spend the day with? What do you do?  On our last great journey, the rehearsal for the upcoming circumnavigation, so to speak, I missed almost nothing. I missed the family and – yes, I admit it very much: I missed my work. The creative work. I wrote, painted and wrote/drew a children’s book. Everything without order and client relationship.

My work material was a little too modest. No comparison to the equipment in my sacred halls ashore. Working with a laptop only is quite different to a proper 27″ screen working station with Wacom tablet, stick, mouse and a wonderfully organized server.

For my taste there was not enough challenge – creative wise. With my yacht branding activities I have changed that for our next trip.

Creative challenge

For this reason, I thought about how to change this situation on the journey ahead of me. First of all, my workplace will hardly differ from my current one. I also have more space 😉 compared to our 50ft Hanse. But with a working place alone it is not done. I need tasks. I need challenges. Holger calls it “creative sport” when he sees me drawing, designing, discarding.

So what do I do at sea? What tasks can I do at sea and while anchoring in front of a heavenly island just as well as here on land?

Design, or more precisely branding, or even more precisely: your own individual ship’s logo, created according to all the rules of artistic design. Everything that can be done with such a logo. Printing logbooks, producing cups, porcelain, pillows and bed linen. Producing shirts and caps and everything the owner’s heart desires. Thats My yacht brandig.

It has often amused me when I have seen poorly designed logos on yachts. Logos that had so little contrast to the hull colour that you could not read them at all or only partially, in fonts that would have been too retro even for a 50s Edgar Wallace movie and in sizes that did not fit the size of the ship. Or simply a bad design in contrast to a beautiful vessel.

Adventure preparation

The preparation was already a bit of an adventure. I ordered polo shirts, baseball caps and functional clothing from so many producers that they surely think the Rivercafe is a 200 meter super yacht. I went on a pilgrimage to Villeroy & Boch – the Worlds leading porcelain producer – and spent half a day talking about various special features of on-board tableware before I was able to get a proper production contract. Holger can now also write logbooks until age 99. There are A4, A5, hard- or softcover, special formats and different papers which I tested. “Saunafest” is now my favourite.

All I need now are clients, but it already started very well.

People who buy a vessel, have found a beautiful name and don’t want to look like on a charter boat – in an ugly comic font – but individually and typographically balanced on their yacht. People who can distinguish a well designed functional shirt from a cheap street shirt.

How different customers can be, I noticed right away with my first two clients. A Superyacht owner who has a whole team of managers with lots of unusual wishes. You definitely need your own cosmetics line and of course the towels have to be embroidered in Egyptian cotton and oh yes in all women’s blouses the dress size S has to stand. No matter how big they really are. In contrast to this, an owner family from Vienna. After a perfect briefing and no more than 2 Skype phone calls the logo was ready. Then a few voting mails concerning the positioning and the beautiful “Nautilus” is ready.

Both was enormously fun. In the meantime I have equipped 15 yachts with my designs and I am happy that my “on board business” has started well.

myyacht

So if any of you, dear readers, need a fine logo for your yacht, I am happy to receive inquiries and orders.

Sincerely Karin Binz

More at www.myyachtbranding.com

 

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

karin-binz-yacht-branding

My yacht branding

My yacht branding

Was machst Du auf dem Meer? …

… bin ich gefragt worden. Nicht zum ersten Mal. Womit verbringst Du Deine Tage, was machst Du? Auf unsere letzten großen Reise, sozusagen der Generalprobe für die Weltumseglung hat mir fast nichts gefehlt. Die Familie habe ich vermisst und – ja ich gebe es sehr gerne zu: Die Arbeit. Die kreative Arbeit. Ich habe ein Kinderbuch geschrieben, gemalt, gezeichnet. Alles ganz frei.

Mein Arbeitsmaterial war etwas zu bescheiden. Etwas bescheidener als hier in meinem heiligen Hallen. Mit einem Laptop, arbeitet sich nun mal ganz anders als vor einem 27″ Bildschirm mit Wacom Tablett, Stick, Maus und einem wunderbar organisierten Server.

Für meinen Geschmack war da zu wenig Herausforderung. Mit my yacht branding habe ich das nun geändert.

Kreative Herausforderung

Aus diesem Grund habe ich mir schon früh darüber nachgedacht wie ich diesen Zustand auf der jetzt vor mir liegenden Reise ändern will. Erst einmal wird mein Arbeitsplatz sich von meinem jetzigen kaum unterscheiden. Ich habe ja auch mehr Platz ;-). Aber mit einem Arbeitsplatz alleine ist es nicht getan. Ich brauche Aufgaben. “Kreativsport” nennt Holger es, wenn er mich zeichnen, entwerfen, verwerfen sieht.

Was mache ich also auf dem Meer. Welche Aufgaben kann ich auf See und vor einer himmlischen Insel ankernd genau so gut gut bewältigen wie hier auf dem Land?

Design, genauer gesagt Branding, noch genauer gesagt: ein eigenes, individuelles, nach allen Regeln des kunstvollen Designs gestaltetes Schiffslogo. Und selbstverständlich alles was man dann mit solch einem Logo anstellen kann. Logbücher drucken, Tassen, Teller, Kissen und Bettwäsche produzieren. Shirts und Kappen produzieren und alles was das Ownerherz sich wünscht. My yacht branding

Es hat mich schon oft erheitet, wenn ich schlecht gestaltete Logos auf Yachten sah. Logos die so wenig Kontrast zur Rumpffarbe hatten, dass man sie gar nicht oder nur teilweise lesen konnte, in Schriften die selbst für einen 50ger Jahre Edgar Wallace Film noch zu retro gewesen wären und in Größen, die so gar nicht zur Schiffsgröße gepasst haben.

Abenteuer Vorbereitung

Die Vorbereitung war schon ein kleines Abenteuer. Für my yacht branding habe ich bei so vielen Produzenten Poloshirts, Kappen und Funktionskleidung bestellt, dass die sicher denken, die Rivercafe sei eine 200 Meter Super Yacht. Ich bin zu Villeroy & Boch gepilgert und habe einen halben Tag über diverse Besonderheiten von Bordgeschirr gesprochen bevor ich einen ordentlichen Produktions-Vertrag ergattern konnte. Auch Logbücher kann Holger nun beschreiben, bis er 99 Jahre alt ist. Es gibt A4, A5, Hard- oder Softcover, Sonderformate und verschiedene Papiere, die ich getestet habe. Saunafest ist jetzt mein Liebling.

Braucht my yacht branding nur noch Kunden

Also Menschen die ein Boot kaufen, einen schönen Namen gefunden haben und diesen nicht wie auf einem Charterboot – in einer hässlichen Comicschrift – sondern individuell und typographisch ausgewogen auf ihrem Boot sehen wollen. Menschen, die ein gut gestaltetes Funktionsshirt von einem billigen Straßenshirt unterscheiden können.

Wie unterschiedlich Kunden sein können habe ich gleich mit meinen ersten beiden Aufträgen feststellen können. Ein Superyachtowner, der ein ganzes Team von Managern hat, die sehr ungewöhnliche Wünsche hatten. Man braucht auf jeden Fall eine eigene Kosmetiklinie und natürlich müssen die Handtücher aus ägyptischer Baumwolle bestickt sein und ach ja in allen Damen-Blusen hat die Kleidergröße S zu stehen. Egal wie groß sie wirklich sind. Im Gegensatz dazu eine Eignerfamilie aus Wien. Nach einem perfekten Briefing und nicht mehr als 2 Skype Telefonaten stand das Logo. Dann noch ein paar Abstimmungsmails was die Positionierung betraf und fertig ist die schöne Nautilus.

Beides hat enorm Spaß gemacht. Inzwischen habe ich mit “my yacht branding” ich 15 Boote mit meinen Designs ausgestattet und ich freue mich dass das mein “on Board Business” gut angelaufen ist.

myyacht

Sollte also jemand von Euch liebe Leser ein feines Logo für seine Yacht brauchen, freue ich mich über Anfragen und Aufträge.

Herzlichst Karin Binz mit my yacht branding

Mehr unter www.myyachtbranding.com

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen