moorings team

BVI – Cooper, Norman, Road Town

Rain and maintenance sensation

Our first week in the BVI flew by like a single day. Overwhelmed by the beauty of Virgin Gorda, we had not the slightest desire to leave. The weather outlook then provided the necessary motivation. Bad weather ahead. Swell from the north, lots of rain, strong 6-7 wind for the following days. No weather for the unprotected Virgin Gorda.

Cooper Island

One hour unfurling the genoa was enough to sail past Ginger Island to Cooper Island. Manchioneel Bay has hardly any anchorage but there are many mooring buoys available. It’s better for the seabed. The standard price for a mooring buoy in the BVI is 30 USD per night, first-come- first-served. There is also a reservation service where you are guaranteed a mooring ball online for an additional 10 USD. Boatyball.com is the name of the service. A good idea for times when it gets crowded here again. A little snorkeling, a sundowner at the beach bar, that’s it for our short visit to Cooper.

Norman Island

After a calm and wave-less night, the genoa needed another two hours to bring us to Norman Island, to the Pirate Bight Bay. We managed one more underwater visit to the great rocks of the “Indians” and then came the announced shitty weather. Three days of flood. Wind, thunder and wind made our Norman Island visit a bit more contemplative than expected. Up to 30 kn wind cleared everything from the vessel that was not moored. At least the waves didn’t make it into the bay. We were left with just sweaters, long pants and socks. In the Caribbean!!! We haven’t had 3 days of bad weather in a row yet. Felt a bit like rainy winter days in the ex-home, only without a fireplace. There remained only chilling or sailing friends meet. Water and land visits fell into the water.

rain

norman island

Ka used the time to draw: Squirrels for her children’s book of Bello and Lilly. Made in Normans Island.

Maintenance stop at the Moorings Base

We interrupted our BVI roundtrip for a long planned repair appointment in “The Moorings” charter base in Road Town. Nothing tragic, but the Rivercafe had been waiting for several months to have two skylights (windows in the ceiling) and other odds and ends replaced. Normally we don’t need a Base for warranty stuff, we can book any qualified technician, however, between Grenada and the Virgins, we found no one who could do it.

Yann, our formidable Leopard Warranty Manager, had then arranged a stop in the Moorings/Sunsail base in Road Town, where the technicians tock care for our concerns.

Exceptionally and recently. The charter giant belongs to the same group as the Leopard brand. Until recently, they weren’t at all happy when owners came around the corner.

Road Town has been repairing vessels with hurricane damage since 2017. There had never been a job like this before, anywhere. The extent of the damage was unimaginable, the pictures of hundreds of destroyed yachts went around the world. The Herculean job will soon be done. In March, the last ship will be released. 4.5 years after Irma.

Unique Yacht expertise in Tortola

To restore a fleet of hundreds of wrecked vessels, over 100 technicians from the Leopard shipyard in South Africa and pros from England were hired to work for the BVI. This has resulted in a unique pool of expertise. There is probably more knowledge gathered here than in the shipyard. The Rivercafe was only the second vessel to benefit from this new repair base. We docked right next to the first patient.

Ricardo is the “Fleet Recovery Lead” and Blo and his team – all alumni from the Leopard shipyard in Cape Town – immediately took care of Rivercafe. An owner’s dream come true. For every question the guys had a solution. And also some installations of the shipyard were improved with a knowing smile.

Ka and I have seen quite a bit of work done on our boats, old and new. But this left us speechless. Blo, Leslie, Brandon and Ronald (the guys on the cover photo) went over our boat like it was a chocolate cake. Thanks so much guys, you did a superb job.

open house
open house
new roof window
new roof window
helm skylight
helm skylight
skylight replacement
skylight replacement

 

The Leopard warranty handling, we always thought was great. We know the experience sailors of other brands and there we are incredibly much better off. The warranty handling is another reason to choose Leopard over other brands. At the base in Road Town we had a swimming pool, C19 test and extremely friendly and helpful staff to ease oute time onshore. As much as we were scared of this repair stop before, it couldn’t have been better.

Many thanks to Yann, Ricardo, Blo, Leslie, Brandon and Ronald. And to everyone we didn’t mention.

New destination USVI

Once the last of the Sikaflex is dried, the work marks are scrubbed away and the next C19 test is done, we’ll set sails. We’ve changed our plans again. That’s the beauty of sailing freedom. The United States Virgin Islands (USVI) is our next destination, less than two hours away. We’ll bring forward our visit to St. Johns, St. Thomas, St. Croix and the Spanish Virgin Islands, and then return to the BVI later to report on the remaining forty-something islands.

Next time you will probably read from St. Johns / Holger Binz

 

Weather report:

Sunrise 6:49 h, sunset 18:17 h, temperatures day 28 degrees C, temperatures night 22 degrees C, wind 5-7, a lot of rain

2 thoughts on “BVI – Cooper, Norman, Road Town”

  1. Ihr Glücklichen…. zwar mieses Wetter dafür aber so eine tolle Reparaturwerkstatt für Euer Boot. Besser gehts ja wohl nicht. Liebe Grüße vom Bodensee – hier schneits aktuell…. Annelies

  2. Aw glad that you were able to get some work done and how funny that you have a team of guys who are both my nationalities, you cannot escape us :). Pity about the weather but I know how much you love the BVIs so hope it turns sunny and amazing again. Also interesting that you are there to see the islands rebuild themselves, lots of love from us xx

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top

moorings team

BVI – Cooper, Norman, The Moorings

Regen und Wartungs-Sensation BVI – The Moorings

Unsere erste Woche auf den BVI flog vorbei wie ein einziger Tag. Überwältigt von der Schönheit Virgin Gordas, hatten wir nicht die geringste Lust aufzubrechen. Für die nötige Motivation sorgte dann die Wetteraussicht. Schlechtwetterzeit. Schwell aus Nord, viel Regen, kräftiger 6-7er Wind für die folgenden Tage. Kein Wetter für das ungeschützte Virgin Gorda.

Cooper Island BVI – The Moorings

Eine Stunde die Genua ausrollen genügte, um vorbei an Ginger Island nach Cooper Island zu segeln. Die Manchioneel Bay hat kaum Ankerplatz aber dafür liegen viele Mooringbojen bereit. Ist ja auch besser für den Meeresboden. Der Standardpreis für einen Mooringball auf den BVI liegt bei 30 USD pro Nacht, first-come-frist serve. Es gibt auch einen Reservierungs-Service, bei dem man Online für zusätzliche 10 USD einen Mooringball garantiert hat. Boatyball.com heißt der Service. Eine gute Idee für Zeiten, in denen es hier wieder voll wird. Ein bisschen schnorcheln, ein Sundowner in der Strandbar, das war`s mit unserem Kurzbesuch auf Cooper.

Norman Island

Nach einer ruhigen und wellenlosen Nacht brauchte die Genua nochmals zwei Stunden, um uns nach Norman Island zu bringen, in die Pirate Bight Bay. Wir schafften noch einen Unterwasserbesuch bei den tollen Felsen der „Indians“ und dann kam das angekündigte Schitt-Wetter. Drei Tage Sinflut. Wind, Gewitter und Wind machten unseren Norman Island Besuch etwas kontemplativer als gedacht. Bis 30 kn Wind räumte alles vom Schiff, was nicht festgemacht war. Immerhin schafften es die Wellen nicht in die Bucht. Uns blieben nur Pullover, lange Hose und Socken. In der Karibik!!! 3 Tage schlechtes Wetter am Stück hatten wir noch nicht. Fühlte sich ein bisschen an, wie verregnete Wintertage im Ex-Zuhause, nur ohne Kamin. Da blieb nur gammeln oder Segelfreunde treffen. Wasser- und Landbesuch fielen ins Wasser. BVI – The Moorings

 

 

norman island
Norman islandrainKa nutze die Zeit zum Zeichnen: Eichhörnchen für ihr Kinderbuch von Bello und Lilly. Made in Normans Island.

Wartungsstopp in der Moorings Base

Unseren BVI Roundtrip unterbrachen wir für einen lange geplanten Reparaturtermin. Nichts Tragisches, aber die Rivercafe wartete schon seit einigen Monaten auf den Austausch von zwei Dachfenstern und weiterem Kleinkram. Normalerweise brauchen wir für Garantiesachen keine Leopard Base, wir können jeden qualifizierten Handwerker buchen.Diesmal jedoch fanden wir zwischen Grenada und den Virgins niemanden, der das erledigen konnte. BVI – The Moorings

Yann, unserer formidabler Leopard Warranty Manager, hatte dann dafür gesorgt, dass sich die Moorings/Sunsail Techniker in der Charterbase in Road Town unserer Sorgen annahmen.

Ausnahmsweise und neuerdings. Der Charterriese gehört zum gleichen Konzern wie die Marke Leopard. Bis vor kurzem waren die gar nicht froh, wenn Eigner um die Ecke kamen.

In Road Town wurden seit 2017 Schiffe mit Hurricane Schäden repariert. So eine Aufgabe gab es noch nie und nirgendwo. Das Ausmaß der Schäden war unvorstellbar, die Bilder von hunderten zerstörten Yachten gingen um die Welt. Der Herkulesjob ist bald erledigt, Im März wird das letzte Schiff in die Freiheit entlassen. 4.5 Jahre nach Irma. BVI – The Moorings

Yacht Kompetenz in Tortola

Um eine Flotte von Hunderten von zerstörten Schiffen wieder herzurichten, wurden über 100 Techniker von der Leopard Werft aus Südafrika und England für die BVI engagiert. Das hat zu einem einzigartigen Fundus von Kompetenz geführt. Hier ist vermutlich mehr Wissen versammelt als in der Werft. Die Rivercafe war erst das zweite Schiff, dass von dieser neuen Reparaturbase profitierte. Wir dockten gleich neben dem ersten Patienten. BVI – The Moorings

Ricardo ist der „Fleet Recovery Lead” und Blo und sein Team – alles Ehemalige aus der Leopard Werft in Kapstadt – kümmerten sich umgehend um die Rivercafe. Ein wahrgewordener Eigner Traum. Für jede Frage hatten die Jungs eine Lösung. Und auch manche Installation der Werft wurde mit einem wissenden Lächeln verbessert.

open house
open house
new roof window
new roof window
helm skylight
helm skylight
skylight replacement
skylight replacement

Ka und ich haben ja schon einiges an Arbeiten auf unseren Schiffen erlebt, auf alten und neuen Schiffen. Aber das hier hat uns sprachlos gemacht. Blo, Leslie, Brandon und Ronald machten sich über unser Schiff her, als wäre es eine Schokotorte. Herzlichen Dank Jungs, ihr habt einen Superjob gemacht.

Das Leopard Garantie Handling, fanden wir schon immer klasse. Wir kennen die Erfahrungen Segler anderer Marken und da sind wir unglaublich viel besser dran. Die Abwicklung der Garantiearbeiten ist ein weiterer Grund, Leopard anderen Marken vorzuziehen. In der Base in Road Town gabs dann für uns noch Schwimmbad, C19 Test und extrem freundliche und hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter. So sehr uns vor diesem Reparaturstop gruselte, es hätte nicht besser sein können.

Herzlichen Dank Yann, Ricardo, Blo, Leslie, Brandon und Ronald. Und allen, die wir nicht erwähnt haben.

Neues Ziel USVI

Wenn das letzte Sikaflex getrockenet ist, die Arbeitsspuren weggeschrubbt sind und der nächste C19 Test gemacht ist, segeln wir wieder los. Wir haben unsere Pläne wieder mal geändert. Das ist das Schöne an der Seglerfreiheit. Die United States Virgin Islands (USVI) sind unser nächstes Ziel, keine zwei Stunden entfernt. Wir ziehen unseren Besuch in St. Johns, St. Thomas, St. Croix und den Spanish Virgin Islands vor und kehren dann später wieder zu den BVI zurück um von den restlichen paarundvierzig Inseln berichten.

Das nächste Mal lest ihr von uns vermutlich aus St. Johns. / Holger Binz

 

Wetterreport:

Sonnenaufgang 6:49 h, Sonnenuntergang 18:17 h, Temperaturen Tag 28 Grad C, Temperaturen Nacht 22 Grad C, Wind 5-7, sehr viel Regen

2 Kommentare zu „BVI – Cooper, Norman, The Moorings“

  1. Ihr Glücklichen…. zwar mieses Wetter dafür aber so eine tolle Reparaturwerkstatt für Euer Boot. Besser gehts ja wohl nicht. Liebe Grüße vom Bodensee – hier schneits aktuell…. Annelies

  2. Aw glad that you were able to get some work done and how funny that you have a team of guys who are both my nationalities, you cannot escape us :). Pity about the weather but I know how much you love the BVIs so hope it turns sunny and amazing again. Also interesting that you are there to see the islands rebuild themselves, lots of love from us xx

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Scroll to Top