Merry Christmas

Birthday and Christmas

We are still in Marigot Bay in St Lucia and have decided to stay here until our spare parts for the watermaker and AIS have arrived and everything is repaired. Only when the Rivercafe is fit again do we want to continue north. Just sailing to another island – which is also another state – is not possible at the moment. We have fulfilled the C19 quarantine in St. Lucia and are allowed to move freely, unlike the few normal tourists. The drivers are more than happy to get a few customers who want to see something of the island.

If we sail to Martinique or Guadeloupe, we have to comply with the C19 rules there, with testing and quarantine. If we leave St Lucia for even one day, we would have to go back into quarantine for 14 days on our return. So we wait until everything is fixed before we sail north to the next island. Honestly there are worse places to wait. Marigot Bay is where the first Doctor Dolittle was produced in the late 60s and it’s just beautiful here.

I guess most of you would change places with us in a heartbeat. We have 30 degrees every day, with warm rain in between. The water is warm and perfect for swimming and snorkelling. We can stock up on food and also eat in restaurants. Even though we wait, we enjoy the lush nature and spending time with our friends Nilla and Anders and the other fellow sailors.

Holidays

Every year, holidays pile up for us around Christmas time. Ka’s birthday on 23 December we celebrated with sailing friends. On Christmas Eve we cooked traditional Christmas dishes with Nilla, Anders, Janet and Kevin from the Swedish “Ydalir” and the British “Weyve”. After New Year’s Eve we have our wedding anniversary immediately afterwards. So like every year 4 celebrations in 10 days.

We are very aware that this year we are much more comfortable than most of you. It is a difficult time for most of you, as many keep telling us. That’s why it’s a bit difficult for us to tell you about the wonderful days we have in the Caribbean. Nothing could be further from our minds than teasing you. But maybe we can motivate you a little to get through the difficult time and look forward to the time “afterwards”.

But we sincerely hope that this difficult time will soon be over. If the situation is getting on your nerves too much, please let us know. For once, we have good internet.

Ka and I wish you a Merry Christmas and restful days. Best wishes from the Caribbean /Holger and Ka

 

marigot_bay
Marigot Bay St. Lucia
pitons
Pitons in St. Lucia
soufriere
Soufriere main place
jucy_island
Calabash
christmas_on_rivercafe
Christmas on Rivercafe
christmas_chill
Christmas chill
birthday_cake
Christmas cake
birthday_concert
Birthday concert
christmastree
Christmas tree in Soufriere

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

merry_christmas

Frohe Weihnachten

Geburtstag und Weihnachten

Wir sind immer noch in der Marigot Bay in St. Lucia und haben uns entschieden hier zu bleiben, bis unsere Ersatzteile für Watermaker und AIS angekommen sind und alles repariert ist. Erst wenn die Rivercafe wieder fit ist, wollen wir weiter nach Norden. Mal gerade so zu einer anderen Insel segeln – die auch ein anderer Staat ist – läuft gerade nicht. Wir haben die C19 Quarantäne in St. Lucia erfüllt und dürfen uns frei bewegen, anders als die wenigen normalen Touristen. Die Fahrer sind mehr als happy, wenn sie ein paar Kunden abbekommen, die etwas von der Insel sehen wollen.

Wenn wir nach Martinique und Guadeloupe segeln, müssen wir dort die C19 Regeln erfüllen, mit Test und Quarantäne. Sollten wir St. Lucia auch nur für einen Tag verlassen, müssten wir bei der Rückkehr wieder 14 Tage in Quarantäne. Also warten wir ab, bis alles repariert ist, bevor wir zur nächsten Insel weiter segeln. Es gibt wahrlich üblere Orte zum abwarten. In der Marigot Bay wurde Ende der 60er Jahre der erste Doctor Dolittle gedreht und es ist einfach nur schön hier.

Ich schätze, dass jeder von Euch sofort mit uns tauschen würde. Wir haben jeden Tag 30 Grad, zwischendurch regnet es warmen Regen. Das Wasser ist warm und perfekt zum schwimmen und schnorcheln. Wir können uns verproviantieren und auch in Restaurants essen. Auch wenn wir abwarten, erfreuen wir uns an der saftigen Natur und der gemeinsamen Zeit mit unseren Freunden Nilla und Anders und den anderen Mitseglern.

Feiertage

Jedes Jahr häufen sich bei uns die Feiertage um die Weihnachtszeit. Ka`s Geburtstag am 23.12. feierten wir mit Segelfreunden. Am heiligen Abend kochen wir traditionelle Weihnachtsspeisen mit Nilla, Anders, Janet und Kevin von der schwedischen Ydalir und der Britischen Weyve. Nach Silvester haben wir gleich anschließend unseren Hochzeitstag. Also wie in jedem Jahr 4 Feiern in 10 Tagen.

Wir sind uns sehr bewusst, dass wir es in diesem Jahr viel angenehmer haben als die Meisten von Euch. Es ist eine schwierige Zeit, wie uns viele von Euch immer wieder berichten. Deshalb fällt es uns auch ein bisschen schwer, von den wunderbaren Tagen in der Karibik zu erzählen. Nichts liegt uns ferner, als Euch die Nase lang zu machen. Aber vielleicht gelingt es uns ein bisschen, Euch zu motivieren, die schwere Zeit durchzustehen und Euch auf die Zeit “danach” zu freuen.

Wir wünschen Euch aber von Herzen, dass diese schwierige Zeit bald vorbei ist. Wenn immer Euch die Lage zu sehr auf den Keks geht, meldet Euch. Wir haben ausnahmsweise gutes Internet.

Ka und ich wünschen Euch frohe Weihnachten und erholsame Tage. Herzliche Grüße aus der Karibik. /Holger und Ka

 

marigot_bay
Marigot Bay St. Lucia
pitons
Pitons in St. Lucia
soufriere
Soufriere main place
jucy_island
Calabash
christmas_on_rivercafe
Christmas on Rivercafe
christmas_chill
Christmas chill
birthday_cake
Christmas cake
birthday_concert
Birthday concert
christmastree
Christmas tree in Soufriere

2 Kommentare zu „Frohe Weihnachten“

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top