Canouan

Island hooping in the Southern Caribbean

St. Vincent & Grenadines

We find it really beautiful here, on the islands of “St. Vincent and the Grenadines” (SVG). A long name for a small country with only 110,000 inhabitants. Independent, but a member of the Commonwealth. However, payment is not in GBP, but in East Caribbean dollars, like in some Caribbean states. Actually, the SVG consists of more water than land. The 34 islands make it a spectacular cruising ground for sailors. The next island is almost in sight, anything goes with day sailing. Turquoise water, reefs, white and black beaches – simply a paradise.

SVG never had a C19 lockdown, but the volcanic eruption in April/May was the reason that only few visitors are on the island. So it’s unusually empty in paradise right now.

Our stop in Bequia was once again longer than planned. We – or rather Terone – tried to repair our alternator, unfortunately without success. Now the broken one is mounted again and it is annoying with permanent alarm beeping.

But there was also some particularly unpleasant weather that we wanted to wait out in Bequia. Either the wind was blowing at 7 Bft+ or it was raining buckets – cats and dogs wouldn’t describe it  – , with thunder and lightning. Not fine sailing weather. The locals were happy about it, because rain is the only fresh water on the island. Every house has an enormous water tank and that it. There are no springs and if it gets really dry, water has to be bought expensively from St. Vincent and transported by ship.

Although only 10 nm away from St. Vincent, the people in Bequia insist that everything is much more relaxed, peaceful and friendly here. For us, it has never been easier to get in touch with the remarkably nice people on our trip. The locals report that people here get along very well, regardless of colour or bank balance. I think Bequia is a dream destination for non-sailors too.

Anchoring vs. mooring buoy in Bequia

But even in paradise, things can be improved. Normally there are dozens of ships anchored in this bay off Princess Point alone. At the moment there are only about 10-15. The anchors of the ships have completely milled through the seabed and devastated it. Nothing lives there any more. It is a controversial topic among sailors: anchoring vs. mooring buoys. Some don’t trust the mooring buoys, others simply don’t want to pay money.

Why not ban anchoring in Bequia – at least in some areas – and put out mooring balls and maintain them properly? 10 or 20 USD per night as a conservation contribution, that should be worth it and the seabed could regenerate. Nobody wants to hike in a broken forest either. Funnily enough, we met Rikki here, a very likeable scientist who sails alone and advises countries on marine conservation. Among other things, she was responsible for deploying mooring balls and banning anchors in the nature reserves of the US Virgin Islands. Hopefully she will manage to convince the locals to do the same here. In a few years, everything could recover. And if a few less sailors come because of the costs, so be it.

Canouan Island

Due to our alternator issue we had to change our plans to reduce the number of engine manoeuvres. Cancellation for Mystique, Union Island and Tobago Keys. Instead, we sailed on Saturday morning from Bequia to “Canouan Island”, 22 nm away. We got the tip in Bequia. And this is another side of SVG. Some of the islands are inhabited by mega-wealthy people. You surely know Mystique as an island of stars and millionaires. Canouan is not inferior to that, if you count the Learjets on the runway. But Canouan is more undercover compared to Mystique.

We moored in the new marina “Sandy Lane”, as the only boat. Our cat normally passes for a dinghy here. Here they have planned with vessels slightly bigger. But with the recent volcanic eruption, C19 and hurricane season, there’s something going on for us non-mega yachties.

We were super happy with the marina’s sensational service, especially Kareem. We can take care of all the paperwork for leaving the country and the PCR test here. In C19 times, the possibilities for entry and exit are greatly reduced. And a PCR tester is not to be found on every corner. Especially not someone who can deliver within the required deadlines.

Canouan Island and Sandy Lane is such a sensational place that we will write another article about it soon. We think it’s so brilliant here that we’ll add a few more days.

To our final destination in Grenada, we have one more stopover and another 50 nm to sail. From here we sail 20 nm through the spectacular Tobago Keys to Carriacou, which is already part of Grenada. There we check in and do another PCR test. Once we are cleared, we sail another 30 nm to the south of Grenada, near the capital Kingstown. Then we will have reached our hurricane season destination until early November.

All the places we had to skip on the way south we will definitely make up for. I have a feeling you could spend a whole season in St. Vincent, the Grenadines and Grenada. Who knows…/ Holger Binz

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Canouan

Island hopping der der Südkaribik

St. Vincent & Grenadines

Wir finden es richtig schön hier, auf den Inseln von „St. Vincent und den Grenadinen“. Ein langer Name für ein kleines Land mit nur 110.000 Einwohnern. Unabhängig, aber Mitglied des Commonwealth. Bezahlt wird aber nicht in GBP, sondern in East Caribbean Dollar, wie in anderen Karibikstaaten auch. Eigentlich bestehen die SVG aus mehr Wasser als Land. Die 34 Inseln machen es zu einem spektakulären Revier für Segler. Die nächste Insel ist nie weit entfernt, alles geht mit Day Sailing. Türkises Wasser, Riffe, weiße und schwarze Strände – ein Paradies.

SVG hatte nie einen C19 Lockdown, aber dafür hat der Vulkanausbruch im April/Mai für wenig Besucher gesorgt. Es ist also gerade ungewöhnlich leer im Paradies.

Unser Stopp in Bequia wurde mal wieder länger als geplant. Wir – besser gesagte Terone – versuchten unsere Lichtmaschine zu reparieren, leider erfolglos. Jetzt ist die kaputte wieder montiert und die nervt mit permanentem Alarm Gepiepse.

Es gab aber auch besonders unkuscheliges Wetter, das wir in Bequia abwarten wollten. Entweder blies der Wind mit 7 Bft oder es regnete Eimer pro Zentimeter, mit Blitz und Donner. Kein feines Segelwetter. Die Locals waren darüber froh, denn Regen ist das einzige Frischwasser auf der Insel. Jedes Haus hat einen enormen Wassertank und das muss reichen. Es gibt keine Quellen und wenn es ganz trocken wird, muss Wasser aus St. Vincent teuer gekauft und per Schiff transportiert werden.

Obwohl nur 10 nm entfernt von St. Vincent, bestehen die Leute in Bequia darauf, dass hier alles noch viel entspannter, friedlicher und freundlicher ist. Für uns war es auf unserer Reise noch nie einfacher Kontakt zu den besonders netten Leuten zu bekommen. Die Locals berichten, dass die Menschen hier bestens miteinander klarkommen, unabhängig von Farbe und Kontostand. Ich denke auch für Nichtsegler ist Bequia eine Traumdestination.

Ankern vs. Mooring Ball in Bequia

Aber sogar im Paradies kann man Dinge verbessern. Normalerweise liegen in dieser Bucht allein vor Princess Point duzende Schiffe vor Anker. Im Moment sind es nur ca. 15. Die Anker der Schiffe haben den Meeresgrund komplett durchgefräst und verwüstet. Da lebt nix mehr. Es ist bei Seglern ein kontroverses Thema: Ankern vs. Mooring. Manche trauen den Mooringbojen nicht, andere wollen kein Geld bezahlen.

Warum nicht in Bequia das Ankern verbieten und Mooringbälle ausbringen und ordentlich pflegen? 10 oder 20 USD pro Nacht als Naturschutzbeitrag, das sollte es uns wert sein und er Meeresgrund könnte sich regenerieren. In einem kaputten Wald will auch niemand wandern. Witziger Weise trafen wir hier Rikki, eine sehr sympathische, allein segelnde Wissenschaftlerin, die Staaten zum Meeresschutz berät. Sie war u. a. dafür zuständig, dass auf die US Virgin Islands in den Naturschutzgebieten Mooringbälle ausgebracht und Ankerverbot erteilt wurde. Hoffentlich schafft sie es, die Locals zu überzeugen, es hier gleich zu tun. In ein paar Jahren könnte sich alles wieder erholen. Und wenn wegen der Kosten ein paar Segler weniger kommen, dann sei es so.

Canouan Island

Wegen unserer Lichtmaschine mussten wir unsere Pläne ändern, um die Anzahl der Motormanöver zu reduzieren. Storno für Mystique, Union Island und Tobago Keys. Stattdessen segelten wir am Samstagmorgen von Bequia ins 22 nm entfernten „Canouan Island“. Den Tipp hatten wir in Bequia bekommen. Und das ist eine andere Seite von SVG. Einige der Inseln sind von Megareichen bewohnt. Mystique kennt ihr sicher, als Insel der Millionäre und Stars. Canouan steht dem nicht nach, wenn man die Learjets auf der Landebahn zählt. Canouan ist aber eher undercover verglichen mit Mystique.

Wir machten in der neuen Marina „Sandy Lane“ fest, als einziges Boot. Unser Kat geht hier normalerweise als Beiboot durch. Hier haben sie mit Schiffen anderer Größe geplant. Aber mit kürzlichem Vulkanausbruch, C19 und Hurricane Season, geht auch mal was für uns Nicht-Mega-Yachties.

Wir waren superhappy mit dem sensationellen Service der Marina. Den ganzen Papierkram zur Ausreise und PCR Test, können wir hier erledigen. In C19 Zeiten sind die Möglichkeiten für die Ein- und Ausreise stark reduziert. Und einen PCR Tester findet sich auch nicht an jeder Ecke. Erst recht nicht jemand, der innerhalb der geforderten Fristen liefert.

Canouan Island und Sandy Lane ist so sensationell, dass wir gleich noch einen eigenen Artikel darüber schreiben werden. Wir finden es so genial hier, dass wir noch ein paar Tage dranhängen.

Zu unserem Zielort in Grenada, haben wir noch einen Zwischenstop und noch 50 nm zu segeln. Von hier aus gehen wir 20 nm durch die spektakulären Tobago Keys nach Carriacou,, die aber schon zu Grenada gehört. Dort checken wir ein und machen mal wieder einen PCR Test. Sobald wir dann gecleart sind, segeln wir noch 30 nm in den Süden Grenadas, in die Nähe der Hauptstadt Kingstown. Dann haben wir unser Ziel bis zum Ende der Hurricane Season Anfang November erreicht.

All die Orte, die wir auf dem Weg nach Süden auslassen mussten, werden wir garantiert noch nachholen. Ich habe das Gefühl, man könnte eine ganze Saison in St. Vincent, den Grenadinen und Grenada verbringen. Wer weiß…/ Holger Binz

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree.Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen