Discovering Cape Verde

Life Artists

We are just at our stopover in the marina of Mindelo, the capital of Sao Vincente in the Cape Verde Islands. Since days we are ventilated by a strong wind in the marina close to the city. Ironic, because the last two days before our arrival we had zero wind and had to motor. Exactly when we entered the bay of Mindelo on Saturday night in pitch darkness, the fan turned up properly and hasn’t stopped since.

We entered as third catamaran, but we were sent back because of our very honest and accurately reported engine hours. But this first leg was also a teaching and training course for us. We were able to test all the different sails and also improve the manoeuvres. We are now prepared for the more important route to St. Lucia. But first we have to work through our new work list. This time it is the navigation and radio that urgently need help. Why can’t this stupid list remain empty?

The Cape Verdeans are obviously very happy that there are finally some visitors again, even if only the crews of our 24 ships. The normal tourism is not yet running, despite good C19 values. However, wearing masks is a bit tedious at 30 degrees. I think the most important thing for the locals is hope. After our trips over Sao Vincente and the unbelievably beautiful San Antao, the people have impressed us extremely and gained the utmost respect. I have no idea how the people here survive and yet they dance and sing at every opportunity.

Even before C19 Cape Verde was a poor state and as some locals told us, it is not very well governed and corrupt. Of course we cannot judge that, but with the great potential of these islands, the people should be much better off. In the streets you can still see many people without shoes and this is certainly not for orthopaedic reasons.

San-Antao-mountains
San Antao mountains

island_without_rain
island without rain
plastic_on_the_beach
plastic on the beach
sao_vincente_fishing_bay
Sao Vincente fishing bay
Sao_vincente_beach
Sao Vincente beach

house_capverde
House in the San Antao hills

Fantastic islands

The 500,000 inhabitants of the 9 inhabited islands had to cope with extreme drought even before tourism was discontinued. Sao Vincente is dust-dry, practically nothing grows here any more. Desalination plants help to supply a little water, but many people and villages do not have running water. Many of them also have no electricity. Although the land is kissed by the sun and spoiled by the wind, there is no sign of sustainable energy production. As if to threaten, there are a number of windmills above Mindelo, all of which are broken. The tourist islands Sal and Boa Vista have no visitors and no income.

The entire fleet seems to be in the same situation as we are. We enjoyed the evenings in the restaurants here. To the delicious food there were always some musicians playing live. A wonderful atmosphere. I keep my fingers crossed that soon tourists will fly in again to continue the trip. The Cape Verde Islands have earned it.

We take these points of contact and impressions with us, but our journey will soon continue to the other side of the Atlantic.

The start of our second route has been moved from Thursday to Friday. This was necessary because otherwise the C19 protocol would probably not have worked. We all had to go for a PCR test again and if everything is negative we are allowed to enter St. Lucia – 14 days at sea provided.

corona_test
Another corona test

As I write this, a damaged Vendee Globe ship is towing itself into the bay. The Corum has lost the Master and with it the race.

We are now setting off on the 2,200 nm long journey and are looking forward to the first rum punch in the Caribbean. Around St. Nicholas Day in Advent we should arrive in Rodney Bay in St. Lucia. Stay healthy and in a good mood /Holger Binz

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

8 thoughts

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Kapverden entdecken

Genies im Überleben

Wir liegen gerade bei unserem Zwischenstopp in der Marina von Mindelo, der Hauptstadt von Sao Vincente auf den Kapverden. Seit Tagen werden wir von einem kräftigen Wind in der stadtnahen Marina belüftet. Ironisch, denn die letzten zwei  Tagen vor der Ankunft hatten wir Null Wind und mussten motoren. Genau als wir Samstagnacht im Stockdunklen in die Bucht von Mindelo einliefen, drehte das Gebläse  ordentlich wieder auf und kommt seit dem nicht mehr zur Ruhe.

Wir sind zwar als dritter Katamaran eingelaufen, aber wir wurden wegen unserer sehr ehrlich und akurat reporteten Motorstunden zurückversetzt. Aber diese erste Leg war für uns auch eine Lehr- und Trainingsstrecke. Wir konnten alle unterschiedlichen Segel testen und auch die Manöver verbessern. Für die wichtigere Strecke nach St. Lucia, sind wir jetzt vorbereitet. Vorher müssen wir aber erst noch unsere neue Arbeitsliste abarbeiten. Diesmal ist es die Navigation und der Funk, die dringend Hilfe brauchen. Warum kann diese dusselige Liste nicht mal leer bleiben?

Die Kapverdianer sind offensichtlich sehr happy, dass endlich wieder ein paar Besucher da sind, wenn auch nur die Crews unserer 24 Schiffe. Der normale Tourismus läuft noch nicht, trotz guter C19 Werte. Allerdings ist das tragen der Masken bei 30 Grad etwas mühsam. Ich glaube das Wichtigste für die Locals ist Hoffnung. Nach unseren Ausflügen über Sao Vincente und dem unglaublich schönen San Antao, haben uns die Leute extrem beeindruckt und den allergrößten Respekt gewonnen. Ich habe keine Ahnung, wie die Menschen hier überleben und dennoch tanzen und singen sie bei jeder Gelegenheit.

Schon vor C19 waren die Kapverden ein armer Staat und wie uns einige Einheimische berichteten, soll er nicht sonderlich gut regiert sein und dazu korrupt. Das können wir natürlich nicht beurteilen, aber mit dem großen Potential dieser Inseln, müsste es den Menschen deutlich besser gehen. In den Straßen sieht man noch viele Menschen ohne Schuhe und das hat sicher keine orthopädischen Gründe.

island_without_rain
island without rain
plastic_on_the_beach
plastic on the beach
sao_vincente_fishing_bay
Sao Vincente fishing bay
Sao_vincente_beach
Sao Vincente beach

San-Antao-mountains
San Antao mountains
house_capverde
House in the San Antao hills

Traumhafte Inseln

Die 500.000 Einwohner auf den 9 bewohnten Inseln mussten schon vor dem eingestellten Tourismus mit extremer Trockenheit klar kommen. Sao Vincente ist staubtrocken, hier wächst so gut wie nichts mehr. Entsalzungsanlagen helfen ein bisschen Wasser zu liefern, aber viele Menschen und Dörfer haben kein fließendes Wasser. Reichlich viele haben auch keinen Strom. Obwohl das Land von der Sonne geküsst und vom Wind verwöhnt wird, ist nichts von nachhaltiger Energiegewinnung zu sehen. Wie zur Drohung stehen über Mindelo eine Reihe von Windrädern, die alle kaputt sind. Die touristischen Inseln Sal und Boa Vista haben keine Besucher und kein Einkommen.

So wie uns scheint es der gesamten Fleet zu gehen. Wir haben die Abende in den Restaurants hier genossen. Zu dem köstlichen Essen spielten immer irgendwelche Musiker live. Eine wunderbare Atmosphäre. Ich drücke die Daumen, dass bald wieder Touristen einfliegen, damit es hier weiter geht. Die Kapverden haben es verdient.

Diese Berührungspunkte und Impressionen nehmen wir mit, aber unsere Reise geht bald weiter auf die andere Seite des Atlantiks.

Der Start unserer zweiten Strecke wurde von Donnerstag auf Freitag verlegt. Das war nötig, weil das C19 Protokoll sonst vermutlich nicht funktioniert hätte. Wir mussten alle mal wieder zum PCR Test und wenn alles negativ ist, dürfen wir nach St. Lucia einreisen – 14 Tage auf See vorausgesetzt.

corona_test
Another corona test

Während ich das hier schreibe, schleppt sich gerade ein havariertes Schiff der Vendee Globe in die Bucht. Die Corum hat den Master und damit auch das Rennen verloren.

Wir machen uns jetzt auf den 2.200 nm langen Weg und freuen uns auf den ersten Rum Punsch in der Karibik. So um den Nikolaustag im Advent sollten wir in der Rodney Bay in St. Lucia ankommen. Bleibt gesund und gut gelaunt. /Holger Binz

8 thoughts

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen