arc_office

Boarding complete

One more week to go

As expected time flies in Las Palmas. There are only two important things to do on board before leaving on Nov11. A leaking window has to be replaced and the water maker should then start its service. Everything else was done last week. The Rivercafe is fueled up and almost ready to go.

We have even stashed most of the provisions. Our Minister of Pleasure and Happy Life – Ka – will write separately about provisioning. It is unbelievable how much food 5 people need for three weeks. It feels that our vessel lies half a meter lower in the water.

A productive week also included an invitation from OCC Port Officer Agustin to his house in the south of the island. Three crews from Ireland, Sweden and Luxembourg met corona-compliant for a BBQ and an entertaining afternoon. If it did not already exist, the Ocean Cruising Club would have to be invented. Thanks Agustin for the kind invitation. And the pleasant side effect: we enjoyed the warmth of the southern part of the island.

occ_meeting
OCC port Officer Agustin invitation

Some of you will wonder if I completely drove nuts when I complain about having to put on long trousers every now and then. Ka even talks about cold, bad weather. In numbers this means 24 degrees (celsius) and partly clouds in the north of Gran Canaria. Talking about bad weather is perhaps a little off the mark when I think of our friends in Northern Europe. But for all I care it can finally get really warm. And that will soon be the case.

maspalomas_beach
Maspalomas Beach empty

Just before the last week before the start our crew is complete. We are very happy to have Gary from South Africa and Jana & Toni from Germany on board.

Vessel approved

Also the ship acceptance of Rallye Control is done. The Rivercafe has the permission to sail the ARC+. Sounds like it was done quickly. But the whole thing is a complex matter that must be completed before the ARC Officer comes on board for the acceptance. C19 compliant. What is required as safety equipment is quite steep. State-of-the-art life raft, satellite communication, epirb…, the list is long … and expensive. Everything needs the latest certificates and approvals, this also applies to the medical kits.

For all crew members the ARC requires personal life jackets, which are not available in discount stores. We do have 8 self-activating life jackets with signal lights on board, but they are not ARC compliant. The ARC requires life jackets of the finest quality, with personal AIS beacon. This is a homing device that can be used to locate those who have gone overboard in the sea. This is of course a good idea, but this ARC compliant lifejacket equipment alone costs each crew member over 1.000 €. This is especially useful for things that you definitely don’t want to try.

Unbelievable, but we still had to retrofit, e.g. we still needed an external radio antenna just in case our mast brakes. And then we had to extend our – in my opinion already impressive – emergency flare range even further. I guess we could equip the next fireworks at the Grevenmacher wine fest on our own.

Apart from that, the ARC+ is quite different from the usual ones due to Corona. There are no parties in Gran Canaria, no live seminars, no excursions and no flag parade. To compensate, all crews have to take the Corona test three days before departure. Big fun. From Nov1 on we are not allowed to have any contact with others and the only 26 crews left, have to stay in “bubbles”.

We hope that we will be able to enjoy a little bit of ARC atmosphere on the Cape Verde Islands and St. Lucia. There the numbers are much better than in Europe. But all this does not detract from the good atmosphere between the crews. There are radio rounds, whapsapp groups and ladies meetings on the beach.

Everybody is very careful and tries not to get infected. A positive case can cause big problems for the whole fleet and a ship with a C19 case on board is not allowed to leave. A nightmare for every crew. Because whoever has come this far has already invested a lot in this voyage, in time, money and emotions – and high expectations of course.

C19 also indirectly affects us

Unfortunately, we are now also affected by the C19 situation in Europe. Ka`s parents are not well. Her mother has been in poor health for some time, but returned home after a hospital visit. Now her father has also been seriously affected and is under intensive treatment. It is very distressing to be 4 flying hours away and not be allowed to visit. Only both of us have our best thoughts to send. We cannot do more than continue our preparations.

All the ships that are here in Las Palmas have already spent a long time at sea, 5 days and nights at least. Mostly sailing from Madeira, Gibraltar or Portugal. The Rivercafe surely has the longest journey with Cape Town behind it. But in front of everyone there are 3.000 nm Atlantic waves as soon as we pass the harbor wall. Those are the moments when you respectfully realize how big and wild our nature can be. And surely many will ask themselves why they do this to themselves.

We are now turning into the home stretch and the excitement is rising. For the last week we have planned extensive briefings and trainings. But there will also be time for a ship christening. The champagne is already cold.

The weather should also get better again, but I think there is nobody at this jetty who is not looking forward to the Caribbean. And to the cold rum punch on arrival. /Holger Binz

 

One thought

  • We wish that we could be present for RiverCafe’s christening… we – the crew of High Spirits – will be there in “SPIRIT!!” And – will look forward to seeing you SOON on some warm + incomparable Caribbean island… or 2!!
    SAFE travels!! ❤️😎😎

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

arc_office

Boarding complete

ARC+ noch eine Woche bis zum Start

Wie erwartet fliegt die Zeit in Las Palmas. An Bord sind nur noch zwei wichtige Dinge vor dem Auslaufen am 8.11. zu erledigen: ein leckendes Fenster muss ausgetauscht werden und der Watermaker sollte dann auch mal seinen Dienst aufnehmen. Den Rest haben wir in der vergangenen Woche erledigt. Die Rivercafe ist aufgetankt und almost ready to go.

Sogar einen Großteil der Proviantierung haben wir schon gebunkert. Dazu wird our Minister of Pleasure and Happy Life – also Ka – noch separat schreiben. Es ist unglaublich welche Mengen Futter 5 Leute für drei Wochen brauchen. Gefühlt liegt unser Schiff einen halben Meter tiefer.

Eine produktive Woche enthielt auch eine Einladung des OCC Port Officers Agustin in sein Haus im Süden der Insel. Drei Crews aus Irland, Schweden und Luxembourg trafen sich corona-konform Platz zum BBQ und einem unterhaltsamen Nachmittag. Wenn es ihn nicht schon geben würde, man müsste den Ocean Cruising Club erfinden. Und die erfreuliche Nebenwirkung: wir genossen die Wärme des südlichen Teils der Insel.

occ_meeting
OCC port Officer Agustin invitation

Einige von Euch werden sich fragen ob ich nicht einen veritablen Knall habe, wenn ich mich beklage, ab und zu eine lange Hose anziehen müssen. Ka spricht sogar von kaltem, schlechten Wetter. In Zahlen bedeutet das im Norden Gran Canarias 24 Grad und teilweise Wolken. Von schlechtem Wetter zu sprechen ist möglicherweise etwas daneben, wenn ich an unsere Freunde in Nordeuropa denke. Aber von mir aus darf es endlich richtig warm werden. Und das wird ja bald so sein.

maspalomas_beach
Maspalomas Beach empty

Kurz bevor die letzte Woche vor dem Start anbricht, ist unsere Crew komplett. Wir freuen uns sehr darüber das wir Gary aus Südafrika und Jana & Toni aus Deutschland an Bord haben.

Schiffsabnahme und hohe Ansprüche

Auch die Schiffsabnahme von Rallye Control ist erledigt. Die Rivercafe darf hat die Freigabe, die ARC+ mit segeln zu dürfen. Klingt nach schnell gemacht. Das Ganze ist aber eine aufwändige Sache, die erledigt sein muss, bevor der ARC Officer für die Abnahme an Bord kommt. C19 konform. Was als Sicherheitsausrüstung gefordert wird, ist schon happig. Rettungsinsel neuester Stand, Satelliten Kommunikation, epirb…, die Liste ist lang … und teuer. Alles braucht neueste Zertifikate und Zulassungen, das gilt auch für die Medical Kits.

Für alle Crew Mitglieder fordert die ARC persönliche Rettungswesten, die es nicht im Discounter gibt. Wir haben zwar 8 selbstauslösende Rettungswesten mit Signalleuchten an Bord, aber die sind nicht ARC konform. Gefordert werden Rettungswesten vom Feinsten, mit personal AIS beacon. Das ist ein Peilsender, mit dem über Bord Gegangene im Meer wieder gefunden werden können. Das ist natürlich eine gute Idee, aber allein diese ARC konformen Rettungswesten-Ausstattung kosten jedes Crew Member über 1.000 €. Das leppert sich vor allem für Dinge, die man ganz sicher nicht ausprobieren will.

Unglaublich, aber wir mussten noch nachrüsten, z. B. brauchten wir noch eine externe Funk Antenne für den Fall, dass unser Mast bricht. Und dann mussten wir uns – nach meiner Meinung nach schon eindrucksvolles – Notsignal Sortiment noch weiter ergänzen. Schätze, wir könnten das nächste Feuerwerk beim Grevenmacher Weinfest alleine ausstatten.

Ansonsten ist die ARC+ durch Corona ganz anders als sonst. Es gibt in Gran Canaria keine Parties, keine live Seminare, keine Ausflüge und keine Flaggenparade. Zum Ausgleich müssen alle Crews drei Tage vor dem Ablegen zum Corona Test. Vom 1.11. an dürfen wir keinen Kontakt mehr mit anderen haben und die nur noch 26 Crews, müssen in „bubbles“ bleiben.

Uns bleibt die Hoffnung, das wir auf den Kapverden und St. Lucia ein bisschen ARC Ambiente genießen können. Dort sind die Zahlen deutlich besser als in Europa. Aber das alles tut der guten Stimmung zwischen den Crews keinen Abbruch. Es gibt Funkrunden, whapsapp Gruppen und Ladys Treffen am Strand.

Alle sind sehr vorsichtig und bemüht, sich nicht anzustecken. Ein positiver Fall, kann der ganzen Fleet große Probleme machen und ein Schiff mit einem C19 Fall an Bord, darf nicht auslaufen. Ein Albtraum für jede Crew. Denn wer bis hier her gekommen ist, der hat schon sehr viel in diese Reise investiert, an Zeit, Geld und Emotionen – mit hohen Erwartungen.

C19 trifft uns indirekt auch

Leider sind nun auch wir von C19 Lage in Europa betroffen. Ka`s Eltern geht es nicht gut. Ihre Mutter ist seit längerem gesundheitlich schlecht dran, aber nach einem Krankenhausbesuch wieder zu Hause. Nun hat es auch ihren Vater sehr ernsthaft erwischt und er ist in intensiver Behandlung. Es ist sehr quälend, wenn man 4 Flugstunden entfernt ist und nicht zu Besuch kommen darf. Uns bleibt nur beiden unsere besten Gedanken zu schicken. Mehr als unsere Vorbereitungen fortzusetzen, können wir nicht tun.

Alle Schiffe die hier in Las Palmas sind, haben ja bereits eine längere Zeit bei der Anreise auf dem Meer verbracht, 5 Tage und Nächte mindestens. Meistens von Madeira, Gibraltar oder Portugal segelnd. Die Rivercafe hat mit Cape Town sicher die längste Anreise hinter sich. Aber vor allen liegen 3.000 nm Atlantik Wellen vor dem Bug, sobald man die Hafenmauer passiert. Das sind dann die Momente in denen man respektvoll begreift, wie groß und wild unsere Natur sein kann. Und sicher werden sich auf viele fragen, warum sie sich das antun.

Wir biegen jetzt auf die Zielgerade und die Spannung steigt. Für die letzte Woche haben wir ausgiebige Einweisungen und Trainings geplant. Es wird aber auch noch Zeit sein, für eine Schiffstaufe. Der Schampus steht schon kalt.

Das Wetter soll auch wieder besser werden, aber ich denke an diesem Steg ist niemand, der sich nicht auf die Karibik freut. Und auf den kalten Rum Punsch bei der Ankunft. /Holger Binz

1 Kommentar zu „Boarding complete“

  1. We wish that we could be present for RiverCafe’s christening… we – the crew of High Spirits – will be there in “SPIRIT!!” And – will look forward to seeing you SOON on some warm + incomparable Caribbean island… or 2!!
    SAFE travels!! ❤️😎😎

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree.Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen