another_day_in_the_office

Bonjour La Martinique     

A life almost without Covid

St Lucia is perfectly situated for the introduction to the Antilles, not bad for a start. In my opinion, the islands become more and more beautiful as we head north. However, It was good that we were there. The ARC ships were like a little light in the dark C19 tunnel for the locals, but it’s going to be a tough season for St Lucians. Three weeks in St. Lucia is a long time – even for this green island with the spectacular Piton Mountains. We ultimately had Leopard to thank for that, as our watermaker and windlass needed spare parts and attention.

When we finally had the spare parts for our water maker delivered and installed and the windlass running again, at least provisionally, we were also able to leave Rodney Bay Marina and anchor off Pigeon Island. For the first time with the Rivercafe at anchor – after 4 months on board – what a joy. Even if it was only for a short time, because in Martinique it was marina time again. Our anchor winch finally had to be mounted correctly, as Leopard had not managed to do that. And without a winch, no anchoring.

On Epiphany Day, we checked out in St Lucia and finally headed north. On the short 30 nm way to Martinique. With 50 degrees to the wind and an Atlantic wave squeezing into the Caribbean between St Lucia and Martinique, it was a trip not at all to a cat’s taste. Sailing is not always fun, but you have to go through it.

Martinique

The Corona announcements from Martinique were extensive and the C19 protocol required some enquiries before our arrival. A bit like France: lots of red tape but actually relaxed. In the end, it was the easiest entry imaginable. We arrived in Le Marin, moored up, checked in quickly on the computer and shortly afterwards had our first drink in the harbour bar with our friends from the Ydalir. The C19 test the next day went quickly. Same day result and 100 USD p. p. cheaper than in St. Lucia – so free at all.

Being here feels great. We haven’t felt this free since C19 appeared. The atmosphere is very different from St Lucia. More globetrotting. Everything is pretty normal, cool and relaxed here. The shops and restaurants are open – actually you don’t notice anything of Covid. And there are hardly any countable cases. Maybe it’s the high vitamin D level, the Caribbean sun.

There are probably more ships moored in Le Marin Bay than anywhere else in the Caribbean. Mainly French ones. There are fewer charter ships, but many other sailors avoid the quarantine of the southern islands and stay around Martinique. The maritime infrastructure is of the finest and so we then found a capable electrician in Frank (Fronk) who, after many hours of work, got our windlass to purr properly for the first time in its short life. From now on we can really sail the Caribbean and anchor wherever we want.

With a rental car and our dear Ydalir friends Nilla and Anders, we spent a few days cruising the island. What a lush splendour. Banana plantations, pineapple plantations, rum distilleries (e.g. Habilitation Clement with its beautiful park) and sensationally beautiful botanical gardens (Balata was a hit). In addition, Fort-de-France is quite an ok capital city. I probably don’t need to mention that there are beautiful beaches. We drove up and down the island. To the beaches, to the mountains and to small villages. We already remembered Martinique as beautiful, but we were surprised again how pleasant it actually is here.

clement_art
Clement Art
martinique view
Juicy Martinique nature
hummingbirds
Hummingbirds
ka_tree
Ka and the tree
traditional_sailing
Traditional Sailing in Martinique
rain_in_martinique
Rain in Martinique
rum_destillery
Rum distillery Clement
st_pierre_martinique
St. Pierre

rain
Martinique in the rain
juicy_martinique
juicy Martinique
green_martinique
Green Martinique

At the end of the week we will leave Le Marin and slowly anchor our way up the bays to the north. We have three stops left on our list before we leave Martinique and head for Guadeloupe. Unfortunately, we have to skip gorgeous Dominica on the way north because otherwise we would leave the French bubble and then have to go through another C19 protocol in Guadeloupe. We hope that we will be able to call at Dominica normally again on our way back south in May/June.

So now we will move on slowly and finally spend more time in the water. Have a great time with your snow walks and hot wine. We are very impressed by the winter splendour /Holger Binz

 

4 thoughts

  • Ah this is wonderful news. You already sound (and look) totally relaxed. What a joy after the last few months that you have had to endure. Your heart rates must be returning to “normal” again. Very happy for you guys and we look forward to seeing and hearing your news as your trip becomes more about pleasure and being “chilled” than the stressful times so far. xx

  • Ah, now those pictures really bring home what Caribbean cruising is all about. Lying here in bed listening to that grey rain on the velux in Covid central, it’s hard to imagine those places still exist.
    Have a great time guys, you’re missing nothing over here.
    X Ty

  • Ich kann mich dem was meine “Vorredner” geschrieben haben nur anschließen. Besonders in dem Punkt das ihr hier nicht wirklich was vermissen würdet. Kalt-Nass wie ihr es vielleicht noch in Erinnerung habt und dafür die meiste Zeit dunkel – es ist so herrlich Eure Bilder an zu schauen. Ich bin derzeit “leider” mal wieder in Berlin daher kann ich dieses Wetter selber erleben. Aber in 10 Tagen geht´s zurück auf die schöne Insel Teneriffa. Ich wünsche Euch jetzt endlich eine stressfreie Zeit. Das ihr es genießt ist deutlich zu sehen……

Leave a Reply

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

another_day_in_the_office

Bonjour La Martinique

Ein Leben fast ohne Covid

St. Lucia liegt für den Einstieg in die Antillen dramaturgisch perfekt, nicht schlecht für den Anfang. Nach meiner Meinung werden die Inseln auf dem Weg nach Norden immer schöner. Es war gut, dass wir dort waren. Die Schiffe der ARC waren für die Locals sowas wie ein kleines Licht im dunklen C19 Tunnel, aber es wird eine harte Saison für die St. Lucianer. Drei Wochen in St. Lucia sind eine lange Zeit – auch für diese grüne Insel mit den spektakulären Piton Bergen. Das hatten wir letztlich Leopard zu verdanken, denn unser Watermaker und die Ankerwinsch brauchten Ersatzteile und Aufmerksamkeit.

Als wir endlich die Ersatzteile für unseren Watermaker geliefert und eingebaut und die Ankerwinsch wieder zumindest provisorisch lief, konnten wir auch die Rodney Bay Marina verlassen und vor Pigeon Island ankern. Zum ersten Mal mit der Rivercafe vor Anker – nach 4 Monaten an Bord – welch eine Freude. Wenn auch nur eine kurze, denn in Martinique war schon wieder Marina angesagt. Unsere Ankerwinsch musste endlich richtig montiert werden, denn das hatte Leopard nicht hinbekommen. Und ohne Winsch, kein Ankern.

Am Dreikönigstag checkten wir dann in St. Lucia aus und machten uns endlich auf nach Norden. Auf den kurzen 30 nm Weg nach Martinique. Mit 50 Grad zum Wind und einer Atlantik Welle, die sich zwischen St. Lucia und Martinique in die Karibik zwängte, war das ein Trip gar nicht nach dem Geschmack eines Kats. Segeln ist nicht immer Vergnügen, aber da muss man durch.

Martinique

Die Corona Ansagen von Martinique waren umfangreich und das C19 Protokoll forderte einige Anfragen vor unserer Ankunft. Ein bisschen wie in Frankreich: viel Bürokratie aber eigentlich ist es entspannt. Letztlich war es die einfachste Einreise, die man sich vorstellen kann. Wir liefen in Le Marin ein, machten fest, checkten schnell am Computer ein und kurz später hatten wir unseren ersten Drink in der Hafenbar mit unseren Freunden von der Ydalir. Der C19 Test am nächsten Tag ging schnell. Ergebnis am gleichen Tag und 100 USD p. P. billiger als in St. Lucia – also kostenlos.

Hier zu sein fühlt sich großartig an. So frei haben wir uns seit C19 nicht mehr gefühlt. Die Atmosphäre ist ganz anders als in St. Lucia. Mehr globetrottig. Hier ist alles ziemlich normal,  cool und relaxt. Die Geschäfte und Restaurants sind offen – eigentlich merkt man nichts von Covid. Und es gibt auch nur kaum zählbare Fälle. Liegt vielleicht am hohen Vitamin D Pegel, der karibischen Sonne.

In der Bucht von Le Marin liegen vermutlich mehr Schiffe, als irgendwo sonst in der Karibik. Vor allem Französische. Es sind weniger Charterschiffe unterwegs, aber viele andere Segler vermeiden den Weg in die Quarantäne der südlichen Inseln. Die maritime Infrastruktur ist vom Feinsten und so fanden wir dann mit Frank (Fronk) einen fähigen Elektriker, der unsere Ankerwinsch nach vielen Stunden Arbeit zum ersten Mal in ihrem kurzen Leben richtig zum Schnurren brachte. Ab jetzt können wir tatsächlich richtig Karibik segeln und ankern wo wir wollen.

Mit einem Mietwagen und unseren Ydalir Freunden Nilla und Anders zogen wir dann auch ein paar Tage über die Insel. Welch eine saftige Pracht. Bananenplantagen, Ananasplantagen, Rum Destillen (z. B. Habilitation Clement mit seinem traumhaften Park) und sensationell schöne botanische Gärten (Balata war der Knaller). Dazu mit Fort-de-France eine ganz brauchbare Hauptstadt. Das es schöne Strände gibt, muss ich vermutlich gar nicht erwähnen. Wir düsten die Insel rauf und runter. An die Strände, in die Berge und ich kleine Dörfchen. Martinique hatten wir schon schön in Erinnerung, aber wir waren wieder überrascht, wie angenehm es hier tatsächlich ist.

Ende der Woche werden wir Le Marin verlassen und uns langsam die Buchten nach Norden hoch ankern. Drei Stopps haben wir noch auf unserer Liste, bevor wir Martinique verlassen und uns auf den Weg nach Guadeloupe machen. Das traumhafte Dominica müssen wir auf dem Weg nach Norden leider auslassen, weil wir sonst die französische Blase verlassen würden und dann in Guadeloupe wieder ein C19 Protokoll durchlaufen müssten. Wir hoffen darauf, das wir auf dem Rückweg nach Süden im Mai/Juni Dominica wieder normal anlaufen können.

rain
Martinique in the rain
green_martinique
Green Martinique
juicy_martinique
juicy Martinique

st_pierre_martinique
St. Pierre
rum_destillery
Rum distillery Clement
rain_in_martinique
Rain in Martinique
traditional_sailing
Traditional Sailing in Martinique
ka_tree
Ka and the tree
hummingbirds
Hummingbirds
clement_art
Clement Art
martinique view
Juicy Martinique nature

Jetzt werden wir also erst mal langsam weiter ziehen und endlich mehr Zeit im Wasser verbringen. Habt eine schöne Zeit bei Euren Schneespaziergängen und Glühwein. Wir sind sehr beeindruckt von der Winterpracht. /Holger Binz

5 Kommentare zu „Bonjour La Martinique        “

  1. Ah this is wonderful news. You already sound (and look) totally relaxed. What a joy after the last few months that you have had to endure. Your heart rates must be returning to “normal” again. Very happy for you guys and we look forward to seeing and hearing your news as your trip becomes more about pleasure and being “chilled” than the stressful times so far. xx

  2. Ah, now those pictures really bring home what Caribbean cruising is all about. Lying here in bed listening to that grey rain on the velux in Covid central, it’s hard to imagine those places still exist.
    Have a great time guys, you’re missing nothing over here.
    X Ty

  3. Ich kann mich dem was meine “Vorredner” geschrieben haben nur anschließen. Besonders in dem Punkt das ihr hier nicht wirklich was vermissen würdet. Kalt-Nass wie ihr es vielleicht noch in Erinnerung habt und dafür die meiste Zeit dunkel – es ist so herrlich Eure Bilder an zu schauen. Ich bin derzeit “leider” mal wieder in Berlin daher kann ich dieses Wetter selber erleben. Aber in 10 Tagen geht´s zurück auf die schöne Insel Teneriffa. Ich wünsche Euch jetzt endlich eine stressfreie Zeit. Das ihr es genießt ist deutlich zu sehen……

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial
Instagram
Scroll to Top

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree.Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen