Marigot Bay

Hurricane Holes

Marigot Bay St Lucia

What to do in Hurricane Season? Where to put the boat? For the period from July to November, all owners staying in the Caribbean are looking for a solution for their vessel – so that it does not fall victim to a hurricane. Hurricanes of higher categories can easily destroy yachts completely, whether small or mega size. Moorings in sheltered locations are limited, so coveted and expensive.

Karin in the mast (the tiny lady on the very top)

The 2022 Hurricane Forecast

NOAA’s National Hurricane Center has forecast an above-average hurricane season this season again. 14-21 named storms are expected. Of these, 6-10 have hurricane potential. And out of that group, 3-6 hurricanes can become the super-dangerous category 3-5, with wind speeds of at least 111 mph.

NOAA has given a probability of 70% for this forecast. Or in other words: can be, but doesn’t have to be. But in case of heavy winds: the list of names of the storms is already fixed for the whole alphabet.

In the 2021 season, only one hurricane (Cat. 1), “Elsa”, made landfall in the eastern Caribbean. Without major damage. A boon for the recently plagued islands. 6 other hurricanes raged either near the US coast or on the Atlantic. According to meteorologists, the cause of this fortunate coincidence was the volcanic eruption in La Palma, which deflected the direction of the storms.

Hurrucanes and insurance

Insurance companies usually charge around 1.5 % of the vessels value just for the hurricane season, in addition to the usual 1.0 -1.5 % p.a. And they make up the rules. The most common is to keep the boat out of 13 and 33 degrees latitude. This is a belt between Grenada to the south and the Chesapeake Bay in the US to the north, also known as the “hurricane belt”. In addition, almost all insurance companies require a hurricane plan to be agreed to in order for the vessel to be covered.

Hurricane Holes

Some insurers allow exceptions, e.g. in recognised “hurricane holes”. These are places within the hurricane belt that have historically proven to be safe places. A few of these places have nevertheless been banged up pretty badly, e.g. Virgin Gorda’s North Sound in the BVI or Nelson’s Dockyard in Antigua.

What makes a hurricane hole? Such a place protects against the three main evils of a hurricane: extreme wind, extreme waves, extreme rain.

Our hurricane hole: Marigot Bay

After Grenada last year, we chose Marigot Bay in St Lucia for this off-season. It’s at 13.57 degrees north latitude, still just inside the Hurricane Belt, but it’s actually a Hurricane Hole with no history of damage. It has everything in perfection that a Hurricane Hole needs:

A bay surrounded by mountains, almost a small fjord. The surrounding mountains are several ship heights high and lie in several rows, which prevents downdrafts. In addition, the mountains are densely overgrown with forests. A perfect windbreak.

The bay opens west to the sea, but is protected by a headland. This means you have to slalom to reach the inner bay. No wave can crash directly into the bay. And then there’s the miracle cure for swell: mangroves. There are plenty of them here, too. There are studies that prove that mangroves reduce the swell by 2/3. In fact, the swell is low, the bay is usually as smooth as a lake. This mixture makes Marigot Bay a safe place (so far).

We decided early in the season not to sail further south and spend our hurricane season in Marigot Bay. The Rivercafe is moored on a wooden dock, just inside the mangroves. We have zero swell and are right in the green. We have the feeling that we will be well protected here even in the event of a hurricane. Time will tell.

 

And the crew?

After we return from Europe and the USA, we will spend another 2 months on board in St. Lucia, during the hot phase of the hurricane season. That is a very long time by our standards. Marigot is much smaller than Fort-Louis Marina in Grenada. Fort-Louis is packed with vessels from different countries, but mostly US-Americans. These guys usually stand in a small pool from the afternoon onwards, sipping their drinks and explaining the world before disappearing again into their air-conditioned boats.

There are far fewer people in Marigot and we hear no ac running. Everything is smaller. But we have 5 restaurants/bars/pubs within a 5-minute radius, all of which are very special. One with fantastic fish and a fabulous sea view, one in the middle of the mangroves with delicious crabs, one in front of the entrance with steaks on hot stone, a nice harbour resto and a fancy restaurant in the hotel. And this 5-star hotel with a big pool, fitness and spa – all facilities  we can use.

Everything around us is green and at night the crickets and frogs chirp romantically. When we are back, the internet should also be really good and we will be able to work. Unfortunately, the place in the mangroves also provides plenty of mosquitoes, which torment us especially at night. On the other hand, we will have the relaxed Zen atmosphere of a very special piece of earth and, from September, plenty of time to get to know the island intensively.

It would be nice if all the islands of the Eastern Caribbean could experience another quiet hurricane season and be spared catastrophes. /Holger Binz

 

1 thought on “Hurricane Holes”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top

Hurricane Holes

Marigot Bay St. Lucia

Was tun in der Hurricane Season? Wohin mit dem Boot? Für die Zeit von Juli bis November suchen sich alle Eigner, die in der Karibik bleiben, eine Lösung für ihr Schiff – damit es kein Opfer eines Hurricanes wird. Hurricanes höherer Kategorien können mit Leichtigkeit Yachten komplett zerstören, egal ob klein oder Megayacht. Liegeplätze an geschützten Orten sind begrenzt, also begehrt und teuer. Hurricane Hole Marigot Bay

Karin im Mast (der kleine Mensch ganz oben)

Die Hurricane Vorhersage 2022

Das National Hurricane Center der NOAA hat für diese Saison eine überdurchschnittliche Hurricane Saison prognostiziert. 14-21 Stürme mit Namen (named storms) sollen es werden. Davon haben 6-10 Hurricane Potential. Und aus der Gruppe können 3-6 Hurricanes der supergefährlichen Kategorie 3-5 werden, mit Windspeed von mindestens 111 Meilen/h.

Für diese Prognose hat die NOAA eine Wahrscheinlichkeit von 70 % angegeben. Oder in anderen Worten: kann sein, muss aber nicht. Aber für den Fall dass schwerer Wind aufzieht: die Namensliste der Stürme steht schon für das ganze Alphabet fest.

In der 2021er Saison traf mit „Elsa“ nur ein Hurricane (Kat. 1) in der Ost-Karibik auf Land. Ohne große Schäden. Eine Wohltat für die zuletzt arg geplagten Inseln. 6 weitere Hurricanes tobten sich entweder nahe der US-Küste oder auf dem Atlantik aus. Es gab keinen der Kat. 5. Ursache für diese glückliche Fügung war nach Meinung von Meteorologen der Vulkanausbruch in La Palma, der die Zugrichtung der Stürme abgelenkt hat.

Hurrucanes und Versicherungen

Versicherungen berechnen in der Regel um die 1,5 % des Schiffswerts nur für die Hurricane Saison, zusätzlich zu den sonst üblichen 1,0 -1,5 % p. a. Und sie stellen die Regeln auf. Die häufigste ist das Schiff aus dem 13 und 33 Breitengrad fernzuhalten. Das ist ein Gürtel zwischen Grenada im Süden und der Chesapeake Bay in den USA in Norden, auch bekannt als „hurricane belt“. Zusätzlich verlangen fast alle Versicherungen einen Hurricane Plan, dem sie zustimmen müssen, damit das Schiff „gecovert“ ist.

Hurricane Holes

Einige Versicherungen erlauben Ausnahmen, z. B. in anerkannten „Hurricane Holes“. Das sind Orte innerhalb des Hurricane Belts, die sich historisch als sichere Plätze bewiesen haben. Ein paar dieser Orte wurden dennoch ziemlich übel aufgemischt, z. B. der North Sound von Virgin Gorda auf den BVI oder auch Nelsons Dockyard in Antigua.

Was macht ein Hurricane Hole aus? Ein solcher Ort schützt vor den drei Hauptübeln eines Hurricanes: extremer Wind, extreme Wellen, extremer Regen.

Unser Hurricane Hole: Marigot Bay.

Nach Grenada im letzten Jahr, haben wir uns für diese Off-Season für die Marigot Bay in St. Lucia entschieden. Die liegt zwar auf 13.57 Grad nördlicher Breite, noch knapp im Hurricane Belt, ist aber tatsächlich ein Hurricane Hole ohne Schadensgeschichte. Es hat alles in Perfektion, was ein Hurricane Hole braucht:

Eine von Bergen umsäumte Bucht, fast ein kleiner Fjord. Die umliegenden Berge sind mehre Schiffshöhen hoch und liegen in mehreren Reihen, was Fallwinde verhindert. Dazu sind die Berge dicht mit Wäldern bewachsen. Ein perfekter Windschutz.

Die Bucht öffnet sich westlich zum Meer, ist aber durch eine Landzunge geschützt. D. h. man muss Slalom fahren um die innere Bucht zu erreichen. Keine Welle kann direkt in die Bucht wogen. Und dann gibt’s noch das Wundermittel gegen Seegang: Mangroven. Auch die gibt’s hier reichlich. Es gibt Studien die belegen, das Mangroven den Seegang um 2/3 verringern. Tatsächlich ist der Seegang gering, die Bucht liegt meist glatt wie ein See. Diese Mixtur macht Marigot Bay zu einem (bisher) sicheren Platz.

Wir haben uns früh in der Saison entschieden nicht weiter südlich zu segeln und unsere Hurricane Season in Marigot Bay zu verbringen. Die Rivercafe liegt an einem Holzdock, gleich in den Mangroven. Wir haben null Seegang und sind direkt im Grünen. Wir haben das Gefühl, dass wir auch im Falle eines Hurricanes hier gut geschützt liegen. Time will tell.

 

Und die Crew?

Nach unserer Rückkehr aus Europa und den USA werden wir noch ca. 2 Monate in St. Lucia an Bord verbringen, in der heißen Phase der Hurricane Season. Das ist für unsere Verhältnisse eine sehr lange Zeit. Marigot ist viel kleiner als die Fort-Louis Marina in Grenada. Fort-Louis ist voll bepackt mit Seglern verschiedener Länder, aber mit überwiegend US-Amerikanern. Die stehen meist ab nachmittags in einem kleinen Pool, schlürfen ihre Drinks und erklären die Welt, bevor sie wieder in ihren mit Klimaanlagen gekühlten Schiffen verschwinden.

In Marigot sind wesentlich weniger Menschen. Alles ist kleiner. Dafür haben wir im Umkreis von 5 Minuten 5 Restaurants/Bars/Kneipen, die alle ganz besonders sind. Eines mit fantastischem Fisch und sagenhaftem Meerblick, eines mitten in den Mangroven mit köstlichen Krabben, eines vor der Einfahrt mit Steaks auf heißem Stein, ein schönes Hafenresto und ein schickes Restaurant im Hotel. Und dieses 5-Sterne Hotel mit großem Pool, Fitness und Spa, können wir nutzen.

Alles um uns herum ist grün und nachts zirpen die Grillen und Frösche. Wenn wir wieder zurück sind, soll auch das Internet richtig gut sein und wir werden arbeiten können. Der Platz in den Mangroven sorgt leider auch für reichlich Moskitos, die uns vor allem nachts quälen. Dafür haben wir die entspannte Zen Atmosphäre eines ganz besonderen Stücks Erde und ab September viel Zeit die Insel intensiv kennen zu lernen.

Es wäre schön, wenn die alle Inseln der Ostkaribik eine weitere ruhige Hurricane Saison erleben dürften und von Katastrophen verschont bleiben. /Holger Binz

1 Kommentar zu „Hurricane Holes“

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Scroll to Top