departure_rivercafe

“We are officially cleared to depart”

Rivercafe is on its way

That was the most beautiful sentence I have heard in a long time. “We are ready to go”. Our Captain Gary got clearance for his crew and Rivercafe and has left  Cape Town today, Sunday at 11.45 h with the opening of the bridge of the Victoria & Alfred Marina. Rivercafe is on the way to Tenerife. Halleluja.

We are in ecstasy. It’s so good that no one sees us. Since this news, we’ve been hovering, grinning like idiots. Our journey will soon begin. At last. What a good decision not to wait for the lifting of the entry ban in South Africa. And what a fantastic coincidence that we found Gary. Delivery Captain of the Year.

cape-town-bridge
Cape Town bridge opens

He’s done a great job these past few days. Checking and approving the ship, getting our stuff on board, fitting out spare parts, dinghy, sails and safety gear ready, doing the sea trial and the refit with the yard. And on top of that, the preparations for more than a month on the Atlantic. Always patient but emphatic, Gary was our man for the handling with the shipyard and the suppliers. You can’t believe what C19 is being blamed for. So if any of you ever need a first class delivery captain: Gary, it doesn’t get any better than this.

Fortunately the handover went really well, there was only little to improve. We were used to different things from our former ships. Leopard was very cooperative with the retrofitting of the extras and the special requests after the sea trial. I guess they wanted to get the Rivercafe off the dock. Unfortunately the Leo boys forgot our complete our, sinfully expensive cushions for the two outside areas. They are now sent from the USA (why ever they are sewn there) to the Canary Islands. Fingers crossed.

We just did the routing as well and it will start very calm before the Lady can present her skills in a few days. Gary also uses PredictWind like we do. A very cool program that calculates the best course based on the sailing performance of our Leopard and the current weather conditions. I will write an own article about it. The calculation has shown that the course is about 5.500 nm, (about 10.000 KM) long in the current weather conditions. So the crew of the Rivercafe enjoys the fresh Atlantic air on a south-north course for about 30-32 days and nights. At the beginning of September the four should reach Tenerife. This is what such a routing looks like:

weather-routing
weather routing

Ka and I can then go into a more relaxed mode from Sunday on. That’s good, because the last weeks were very stressful and annoying. We will then get the positions from board via satellite mail every day and we will check the weather too. We can’t do more than keeping our fingers crossed that everything on board will remain unspectacular and as boring as possible.

We will then have time to organize a few things, discover the island and see what the cuisine of the Canary Islands has to offer. And then we will slowly start to prepare our own Atlantic crossing. When the Rivercafe has arrived in good shape, we will sail to a few Canary islands and at the end of October we will sail to Gran Canaria where the ARC fleet is gathering. And then we’ll be sailing soon, over into the turquoise water. / Holger Binz

 

7 thoughts on ““We are officially cleared to depart””

  1. Irene und Horst Simon

    Der nächste Monat geht auch noch rum, Licht am Ende des Tunnels für Euch. Wir freuen uns schon auf Eure Reiseberichte, alles Gute bis dahin
    Wir bleiben die verdonnerte Landratten
    Irene und Horst

  2. Thomas Seifeth

    Alles fügt sich nun zum Guten und bald werdet Ihr auf Eurem schönen Schiff sein!
    Big hug Birgit & Thommy

  3. Hi Holger,

    Great to hear that things have moved in such a positive direction for you and the adventures have continued since the days of Oysterbar.
    Wishing the crew onboard your new Leopard fair winds and you both all the best during these challenging times.

    Regards/Mfg,

    Duncan
    (Delivery crew; BVI-Mallorca)

    1. Hi Duncan, nice reading from you and thanks for your nice wishes. You’re right, these are really challenging times.
      Take care and all the best

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top

departure_rivercafe

“We are officially cleared to depart”

Die Rivercafe ist auf dem Weg

Das war der schönste Satz, den ich seit langer Zeit gehört habe. We are ready to go. Unser Captain Gary hat seine Crew und die Rivercafe am Samstag in Cape Town ausgecheckt und ist soeben, an diesem Sonntag, um 11.45 h mit der Brückenöffnung der Victoria & Alfred Marina zu der Reise nach Teneriffa aufgebrochen. Jauchzet, frohlocket 🙂

Wir sind im Freudentaumel. Gut das uns niemand sieht. Seit dieser Nachricht schweben wir, sind nur noch debil am Grinsen. Unsere Reise geht bald los. Endlich. Was für eine gute Entscheidung, nicht auf die Aufhebung der Einreisesperre in Südafrika zu warten. Und welch fantastische Fügung, das wir Gary gefunden haben. Den delivery Captain des Jahres.

cape-town-bridge
Cape Town bridge opens

Er hat  in den letzten Tagen Großartiges geleistet. Das Schiff prüfen und abnehmen, unser Zeugs an Bord nehmen, Ersatzteile ausstatten, Dinghy. Segel und die Sicherheitsausstattung klar machen, sea trial und die Nachbesserungen mit der Werft organisieren. Und dazu noch die Vorbereitungen für mehr als einen Monat auf dem Atlantik. Immer geduldig aber mit Nachdruck, war Gary unser Mann für die Abwicklung mit der Werft und den Lieferanten. Man kann gar nicht glauben, für was C19 alles verantwortlich gemacht wird. Also falls mal jemand von Euch einen erstklassigen delivery captain braucht: Gary, besser geht’s nicht.

Erfreulicherweise lief die Abnahme auch richtig gut, es gab nur wenig nachzubessern. Da waren wir von unseren anderen Schiffen anderes gewohnt. Leopard war sehr kooperativ bei der Nachrüstung der Extras und den Sonderwünschen, nach dem sea trial. Schätze mal, die wollten die Rivercafe auch endlich vom Dock bekommen. Leider haben die Leo Jungs unsere kompletten, sündhaft teuren Polster für die zwei Außenbereiche vergessen. Die werden nun aus den USA (warum auch immer die dort genäht werden) auf die Kanaren geschickt. Klaro.

Das Routing hat ergeben, das die erste Strecke sehr flau wird, anschließend kann das Mädel zeigen, was sie kann. Gary nutzt auch wie wir PredictWind für das Wetter Routing. Ein sehr cooles Programm, das genau auf die Segelleistungen unserer Leopard und den aktuellen Wetterbedingungen den besten Kurs berechnet. Ich werde dazu mal einen eigenen Artikel schreiben. Die Berechnung hat ergeben, dass die Strecke bei den jetzigen Wetterbedingungen ca. 5.500 nm,(ca  10.000 KM) lang ist. Damit genießt die Crew der Rivercafe ca. 30-32 Tage und Nächte die frische Atlantikluft auf einem Süd-Nord Kurs. Anfang September sollten die vier dann Teneriffa erreichen. So sieht ein solches Routing aus:

weather-routing
weather routing

Ka und ich gehen können dann ab jetzt in einen relaxteren Modus wechseln. Das ist auch gut so, denn die letzten Wochen war sehr stressig und nervig. Wir werden dann täglich die Positionen von Bord via Satelliten Mail bekommen und das Wetter checken. Mehr als die Daumen zu drücken dass an Bord alles unspektakulär und möglichst langweilig bleibt, können wir dann auch nicht.

Wir werden dann Zeit haben ein paar Sachen zu organisieren und Ausstattung zu kaufen, die Insel zu entdecken und mal schauen was die Küche der Kanaren zu bietet. Und dann werden wir auch langsam anfangen unser eigenes Atlantik Crossing vorzubereiten. Wenn die Rivercafe gesund angekommen ist, wollen wir ein paar Inseln absegeln und dann Ende Oktober Gran Canaria anlaufen, wo sich die Flotte der ARC sammelt. Und dann geht’s bald los, rüber ins türkise Wasser. / Holger Binz

7 thoughts

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "Allow cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or clicking "Accept", you agree. Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen